top of page
  • Writer's picture Saint's Gates

SAINT TONY

Artist Tony Devoney hails from New Orleans and is currently working and living in Los Angeles. Devoney draws inspiration from emotional reflection, movement, and spontaneity represented through his detailed use of texture and color layering.


 



What’s your star sign?

Gemini.


When and how did painting find you?


While I did start out drawing, painting found me around the age of eight. Being surrounded by my grandmother – a lot of the times as she painted, it became second nature to me. The craft of picking up a brush or mason jar and putting to canvas really struck around the age of 18-19, after I was home almost a year from Navy recruitment pondering what was next for my life. To this day I’ll tell the story of me just bored at home, scrolling Facebook and stumbling onto a piece of abstract art which I’d seen before but never really ingested. I had a strong urge to mimic a similar design, went to my closet and got out the supplies I had laying around and then proceeded to paint. The next morning I showed some coworkers and they loved it. That gave me enough confidence to continue and later that year I entered into my first showing, since then I’ve been pursuing it as a career. It’s been close to five years now that it’s been a full time thing for me, as in full time pursuing. I’ve yet to be able to quit my side hustle, but that’s what it’s all about. Living and breathing the hustle and struggle as an artist. It’s the journey towards the goals you dream of achieving that builds the craft and character of a creative. 



Can you name one of the most sublime moments during your career as an artist?


I’d say one of the most sublime moments thus far for me would be my first solo showcase here in L.A. It was perfect in every way, with having both my mom and grandmother fly in, to the amount of love and support that was shown. I’ll never forget that showcase, it really pushed me to believe even more than ever that I do have a little something, something worth fighting for. Sure I may not be the best painter, or artist even for that matter but I think after having that show and hearing and seeing what everyone had to say about my art, it meant for me that I am on some sort of path and it feels right. 



What's one piece of solicited advice you’d give to someone struggling with finding or pursuing their passion?


I’d say this to anyone pursuing something they are passionate about, don’t waste time. I remember walking down Royal Street in New Orleans about 4 years ago now, looking at all the art and then stumbling into a gallery. I looked around at all the pieces and then ran into a man that was standing outside the front door manning the gallery, feeling the need to ask his advice as well as explaining how I had decided to pursue my art. He said, and I quote, “Keep going, this all sounds great, but remember there will be times when all your friends want to party and you will too but you must spend time on your craft. It’s the ones that stay back and perfect, critique and experiment that reach their goals.” Of course that could have been taken many ways and was pretty specific but for some reason it has stuck with me and now living and pushing on in a fast-pace, exciting city like L.A., I’ve learned it really does matter how you spend your time.



Five things that you love? 


Nature, COLOR, traveling, music, and love. If you can love, love...



 

SYNC UP WITH TONY:

Instagram: @TonyDevoney

http://www.tonydevoneyart.com/

https://www.facebook.com/tonydevoneyart/

96 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page